Posts Tagged ‘sandra mccracken’

Derek Webb & Sandra McCracken – TN EP

27th Jun 11 (Mon) Leave a comment

The follow-up to 2008’s Ampersand, husband & wife duo Derek Webb and Sandra McCracken released TN EP at midnight CST (10pm PST).  It includes five original songs as well as interesting and entertaining covers of Cyndi Lauper‘s “Time After Time” and Simon & Garfunkel‘s “The Sound of Silence.”

options: various download formats $5,
CD+download $7

~Dan – np: CelldwellerWish Upon a Blackstar 04


Derek Webb – Democracy Vol 2 #3

7th Jun 11 (Tue) Leave a comment

If you came here for the U2 Seattle review, GO HERE.

One a month, from March to December 2011…

Derek Webb’s Democracy Vol 2… This month, it is “God Only Knows” by The Beach Boys. I generally hate/hate/hate this song… I blame Jonatha Brooke & Jars of Clay’s more schmaltzy versions.  I’m digging Derek’s more layered version.

For those not in the know, Democracy Vol 2 is a continuation of the covers project Derek started last year. The fans get to nominate songs and then vote once the nominations are tallied. Here’s what he’s done in 2010 and 2011 to date (you can still go back and buy this volume):

  • January 2010: The Beatles – While My Guitar Gently Weeps
  • February: Coldplay – Fix You
  • March: Bob Dylan – The Times They Are A-Changin’
  • April: Gnarls Barkley – Who’s Gonna Save My Soul
  • May: Sufjan Stevens – Chicago *a personal fave*
  • June: U2 – Where the Streets Have No Name
  • July: Huey Lewis & the News – Power of Love
  • August: The Beatles – Eleanor Rigby *a personal fave*
  • September: Simon & Garfunkel – The Sound of Silence
  • October: Radiohead – Karma Police *a personal fave*
  • November: Leonard Cohen – Hallelujah
  • December: Robert Robinson – Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing
  • January 2011: off
  • February: off
  • March: Cee-Lo Green – F**k You
  • April: Bon Jovi – Livin’ On A Prayer
  • May: The Beach Boys – God Only Knows

Also, Derek & his wife Sandra McCracken are hitting the road in the Fall for a house concert / living room show tour for their upcoming TN EP.  GO HERE if you can host.

~Dan – np: PuyaAreyto

Democracy Vol. 2 is a series of subscription based albums of cover songs that Derek will be recording annually, starting January 2010. Those who participate will not only receive the exclusive album, but will democratically decide what songs Derek will record.

Ever wished you could hear Derek cover your favorite Beatles song? Or Backstreet Boys song? Or even re-record your favorite old Caedmon’s Call song? Here’s your chance. Songs will be nominated and voted down to 10. Derek will record them (demo quality) and deliver them digitally (320kbps MP3s), one song per month for 10 months (March to December). Don’t miss your chance to be part of this unique collaborative project with Derek Webb!

%d bloggers like this: