Posts Tagged ‘special edition’

Over the Rhine – Let’s Make a Record

23rd Apr 10 (Fri) 1 comment


Let’s Make a Record!

Thanks for your interest in helping us fund the next Over the Rhine record! We begin recording on Monday, May 17, 2010, in South Pasadena with producer Joe Henry and an amazing group of musicians. We can’t thank you enough for your help.

Please select whatever donation level is a good fit for you.
All donations however small or large are greatly appreciated.
We can’t do it without you.


Linford and Karin

$15 donation

– beautifully packaged CD with artwork, photos, notes, credits, thank you’s etc, shipped to you 30 days in advance of official release date + a personal “thank you” on the band’s website (updated weekly) + 3 digital bonus tracks + small surprise when CD ships

$50 donation

– all the above + a personal “thank you” included in the album’s artwork + immediate (RIGHT NOW) digital download of nine of the forthcoming album’s unadorned, bare bones demos recorded at Nowhere Farm

$100 donation

– all the above + special “super deluxe” box set version of the album, complete with 180 gram vinyl, CD version described above etc + expanded booklet with additional photos, journal entries, notes etc. (LIMITED EDITION)

Over the Rhine are one of my favorite artists… it’s been a while since their last one (2007’s Trumpet Child).  I dig this new trend in special goodies.  Anyway, if you know of Over the Rhine already, you know you want the Embrace It version. :)  If you don’t know them yet, listen to them at your favorite e-tailer (I’d recommend Films for Radio and Good Dog Bad Dog or Ohio as starting points – all different but gorgeous albums).  You can also listen on MySpace…

For more info on the new record and a few special reunion shows, go to (I wish I still lived in Cincinnati sometimes).

~Dan – np: Derek WebbStockholm Syndrome


U2 and Radiohead

19th Jan 09 (Mon) Leave a comment

Not that these bands are lacking of free advertising… but here’s some good news that came out this past week. U2‘s upcoming No Line on the Horizon (due out in March) now has a cover and tracklist…

1. No Line on the Horizon
2. Magnificent
3. Moment of Surrender
4. Unknown Caller
5. I’ll Go Crazy If I Don’t Go Crazy Tonight
6. Get On Your Boots (streaming at or on YouTube)
7. Stand Up Comedy
8. Fez – Being Born
9. White as Snow
10. Breathe
11. Cedars of Lebanon

The Amazons also has No Line on the Horizon for pre-order now.



Radiohead‘s guitarist anti-rockstar Jonny Greenwood is recently collaborated with Israeli singer Dudu Tasa on the new single, “What a Day“.  The song is streaming over HERE (browser warning: IE only).  It’s good, but not like Jonny’s usual fare (i.e. – it’s not like the more experimental Bodysong or There Will Be Blood).

Also in recent directly Radiohead news… EMI/Capitol is re-issuing triple-disc versions (2CD+DVD) of the band’s first three albums (Pablo Honey, The Bends, and OK Computer).  There are no previously unreleased tracks on any of these issues, but it will be a more cohesive place for all of the b-sides rather than the glut of import singles and EPs that the band released as “tweeners.”  They’re due out in late March.

The original singles up through those on Amnesiac are also being repressed in 180 gram 12″ vinyl.  The one for the Drill EP was the one I sprung for… I’d only heard it before in crappy mp3.  It’ll be nice in the analog, backwards technology re-issuance.  They’re due out in late April.

~Dan – np: AntibalasWho is this America?

%d bloggers like this: