Home > New Sounds > Derek Webb – Democracy Vol 1 #12

Derek Webb – Democracy Vol 1 #12

5th Jan 11 (Wed) Leave a comment Go to comments

One a month in 2010… finally wrapped.

Derek Webb‘s Democracy Vol 1… This month, it is “Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing” a hymn by 18th Century Robert Robinson.  While hymns don’t do it for me… I like Derek’s take on this hymn’s recording.  Nice keyboards and vocals (sounds like he’s singing in a large space like a choir loft).

Oh, and if you missed it, Derek Webb put out his instrumental album Feedback on November 2nd. Check out my review of it HERE.  I’ll also be reviewing his upcoming Eugene Oregon show (Jan 20th @ WOW Hall).  Check back for that.

For those not in the know, Democracy Vol 1 was part of the Stockholm Syndrome pre-order package, but it is now a stand-alone item over at the DW store. Only $6 (USD) and you get the following for 2010:

  • January: The Beatles – While My Guitar Gently Weeps
  • February: Coldplay – Fix You
  • March: Bob Dylan – The Times They Are A-Changin’
  • April: Gnarls Barkley – Who’s Gonna Save My Soul
  • May: Sufjan Stevens – Chicago *a personal fave*
  • June: U2 – Where the Streets Have No Name
  • July: Huey Lewis & the News – Power of Love
  • August: The Beatles – Eleanor Rigby *a personal fave*
  • September: Simon & Garfunkel – The Sound of Silence
  • October: Radiohead – Karma Police *a personal fave*
  • November: Leonard Cohen – Hallelujah
  • December: Robert Robinson – Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing

 Volume 2? You decide!!!  Details to come out soon.  It will be a 10 issue volume (starting in March 2011) with a slightly lower entry price (per DW’s recent tweets).  Voting on songs to be in February.

~Dan – np: Kevin MooreShine (soundtrack to Küçük Kıyamet) 

Democracy Vol. 1 is the first in a series of subscription based albums of cover songs that Derek will be recording annually, starting January 2010. Those who participate will not only receive the exclusive album, but will democratically decide what songs Derek will record.

Ever wished you could hear Derek cover your favorite Beatles song? Or Backstreet Boys song? Or even re-record your favorite old Caedmon’s Call song? Here’s your chance. Songs will be nominated and voted down to 12. Derek will record them (demo quality) and deliver them digitally (320kbps MP3s), one song per month for 12 months. Don’t miss your chance to be part of this unique collaborative project with Derek Webb (for Volume 2)!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: