Posts Tagged ‘songs for christmas’

Astral Inter Planet Space Captain Christmas Infinity Voyage

22nd Dec 08 (Mon) 3 comments

OK, so before the main thrust of this post, here’s a short word from Jack Black

With that being said, I think “piracy” might only relate to something that’s supposed to be sold and someone steals it?  I dunno… regardless… since 2001, indie quirky folkster Sufjan Stevens has made “Songs for Christmas” EPs and distributed them to friends and family.  In the fall of 2006, his record label Asthmatic Kitty released the first five volumes in a kick ass EP boxset (for a really great price – – 5 EPs for $14.99):

Since then, he’s done three more volumes… for friends and family.  Well, Volumes 6 & 7 haven’t made their way onto the internets, yet*… but Songs for Christmas, Volume VIII: Astral Inter Planet Space Captain Christmas Infinity Voyage has been made available by one of Sufjan’s friends and/or family.  So… I guess we’re all included in his friend’s list this year.  Click the picture/tracklist below to go to another blogger’s post who has download links at the ready:

01. Angels We Have Heard On High
02. Do You See What I See
03. It Came Upon A Midnight Clear
04. Christmas In The Room
05. Good King Wenceslas
06. Joy To The World
07. The Child With The Star On His Head

(external links)

* By “yet,” I mean… if you find Vol 6 or 7, tell me, yo! :)

And, kids… just like when Volumes 1-3 got leaked in early 2006… when the official product comes out, you gotta support the artists (with your wallet, not your mouse button)!  I know I’ll buy it if it comes out… but until then, enjoy it as a Christmas present from Sufjan’s friend and/or family who likes to re-gift.

Happy Festivus tomorrow!

~Dan – np: Medeski Martin & Wood play John Zorn‘s Masada Book Two: Zaebos

%d bloggers like this: