Home > Music News, New Sounds > McKay, Porcupine Tree, Mulvey & Bazan news

McKay, Porcupine Tree, Mulvey & Bazan news

6th Aug 09 (Thu) Leave a comment Go to comments

Music news that I care about seems to be hitting often lately…

Nellie McKay‘s album that was supposed to be outlast fall,” will finally be out “this fall.”  No album name, but we at least have a street date – October 13th.  There’s not much more content over at the Direct Current Music website; so I hope they are right on this one… .COM, .NET, and .ORG have failed to provide any corroboration.  I hope “this fall” doesn’t turn into “next fall“… yet again.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Porcupine Tree just put their newest one, The Incident (due out 9/15 in the U.S.), up for pre-order.  Much like Steven Wilson’s Insurgentes, this one has a deluxe edition that would make the Pope curse.  It looks freakin’ gorgeous (and huge)…

On the pre-order page there’s a video of PT frontman Steven Wilson talking about what’s to be included.  Oh, it’s a’spensive, but it makes sense if you’ve ever read this “1,000 True Fans” article by Kevin Kelly.  Not to say that only the “true fans” will buy it, but, well… anyway, the article is a good read…

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

One of my favorite singer-songwriters Peter Mulvey is coming through the PacNW in November.  One Portland date that I may try to make, and one Eugene date that I will make.  He’s also got a new one coming out (in September on Signature Sounds).  It’s called Letters from a Flying Machine

(click for larger)

Here are his 2009 tourdates (as of now):

  • Mon 08/10/09 – Saugatuck, MI – Saugatuck Center For The Arts
  • Wed 09/09/09 – Grand Rapids, MI – Wealthy Street Theatre
  • Thu 09/10/09 – Kalamazoo, MI – The Strutt
  • Fri 09/11/09 – Lansing, MI – Creole Gallery
  • Sat 09/12/09 – Ann Arbor, MI – The Ark
  • Tue 09/15/09 – Buffalo, NY – 9th Ward
  • Sun 09/20/09 – Saratoga Springs, NY – Caffe Lena
  • Thu 09/24/09 – Cambridge, MA – Lizard Lounge
  • Fri 09/25/09 – Cambridge, MA – Passim Folk Music & Cultural Center
  • Sat 09/26/09 – Northampton, MA – Iron Horse Music Hall
  • Sun 09/27/09 – Norfolk, CT – Infinity Hall
  • Fri 10/09/09 – Milwaukee, WI – Pabst Theater
  • Sat 10/10/09 – Evanston, IL – SPACE
  • Thu 10/22/09 – The Hague, Netherlands – Transvaria
  • Fri 10/23/09 – Bakkeveen, Netherlands – De Slotplaats
  • Sat 10/24/09 – Bemmel, Netherlands – Top
  • Wed 11/04/09 – Seattle, WA – Tractor Tavern
  • Sat 11/07/09 – Portland, OR – Alberta Street Pub
  • Sun 11/08/09 – Eugene, OR – Sam Bond’s Garage
  • Thu 11/12/09 – Felton, CA – Don Quixote’s Int’l Music Hall
  • Sat 11/14/09 – San Diego, CA – Acoustic Music San Diego
  • Fri 11/20/09 – Burlington, VT – UVM Recital Hall
  • Sat 11/21/09 – Framingham, MA – Amazing Things Art Center
  • Tue 12/01/09 – Fairbanks, AK – College Coffeehouse
  • Wed 12/02/09 – Fairbanks, AK – College Coffeehouse
  • Thu 12/03/09 – Tok, AK – Fast Eddy’s
  • Sat 12/05/09 – Anchorage, AK – Snow Goose Theatre
  • Sun 12/06/09 – Palmer, AK – Vagabond Blues
  • Tue 12/08/09 – Kodiak, AK – Golden Anchor
  • Fri 12/11/09 – Denver, CO – Swallow Hill Music Association

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

(photo by Ryan Russell)
no, the Office’s Jon Krasinski is not hitting the road with Mr Bazan

And as reported earlier, indie-rocker David Bazan is hitting the road with a band (but not to be mistaken as a “Pedro the Lion reunion”).  Announced yesterday on db.com (but unofficially announced at the Eugene house show the other day), he’ll be in Portland in November (the day before Peter Mulvey, actually).  Anyway, here are the Bazan band members and tour dates.  Eric Elbogen: guitar (Say Hi), Andy Fitts: keyboards + guitar (Aqueduct), Casey Foubert: drums (Richard Swift, Sufjan Stevens), and Blake Wescott: guitar (long-time Bazan collaborator).

  • 10/01 – San Francisco CA – Independent
  • 10/02 – Costa Mesa CA – Detroit Bar
  • 10/03 – San Diego CA – Casbah
  • 10/04 – Los Angeles CA – Troubadour
  • 10/05 – Tucson AZ – Solar Culture
  • 10/07 – Austin TX – Mohawk
  • 10/08 – Denton TX – Dan’s Silverleaf
  • 10/09 – Memphis TN – Hi-Tone Café
  • 10/10 – Murray KY – Lovett Auditorium / Murray State
  • 10/11 – Birmingham AL – Bottletree
  • 10/13 – Orlando FL – The Social
  • 10/14 – Atlanta GA – Drunken Unicorn
  • 10/15 – Chapel Hill NC – Cat’s Cradle
  • 10/16 – Washington DC – Black Cat
  • 10/17 – Philadelphia PA – Kung Fu Necktie
  • 10/18 – New York NY – Bowery Ballroom
  • 10/20 – Cambridge MA – TT the Bear’s +
  • 10/21 – Montreal QC – Il Motore
  • 10/22 – Toronto ON – Lee’s Palace
  • 10/23 – Pontiac MI – Pike Room
  • 10/24 – Chicago IL – TBA
  • 10/25 – Champaign IL – Highdive
  • 10/27 – Madison WI High – Noon Saloon
  • 10/28 – Minneapolis MN – Turf Club
  • 10/29 – Iowa City IA – The Picador
  • 10/30 – Lawrence KS – Jackpot Saloon
  • 10/31 – Omaha NE – Slowdown
  • 11/01 – Denver CO – Hi Dive
  • 11/02 – Salt Lake City UT – Kilby Court
  • 11/05 – Vancouver BC – Media Club
  • 11/06 – Portland OR – Mississippi Studios
  • 11/07 – Seattle WA – Neumos

all dates with Say Hi
+ TW Walsh in Boston

Yep… this is gonna be one packed fall of music for me.  Yippie!

~Dan – np: Drain STHFreaks of Nature

Advertisements
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: